Caution: LiveWindowsSupport(dot)com is NOT a real solution
There are many scams and phishing site on the internet, but we have already received a couple of phone calls concerning a scam that has apparently caught many people. This scam in question offers remote management and support of your computer for life, (ie: 12 years). The operators of this service also claim that they can restore a complete operating system remotely. In our opinion, that’s not really possible over the internet.
Adam and I went to the site to investigate. The text of the web site looks to have been translated from another language using something like Google Translate. Here are some other points that would make us think that this is a scam site:
- On the plans.aspx page, there is a VeriSign logo (attempting to give the site legitimacy) That logo is supposed to link back to a VeriSign page confirming the identity of the site posting it. It does not!
- The subscribe button actually says “Subscription Now”
- They claim that their head office is located at (Copied verbatim from their site) "1296 1st Avenue, NY, New York City 10021-5584, USA," This looks off to us. Look at the Zip code.
- Their telephone number listed on the site is (315-944-0911). When we did a reverse lookup, it seemed to belong to a place in Liverpool, NY, not New York City.
- This was the most blatant hint we could find. We looked up the domain owners and this is what we found. (Bare in mind that this is a U.S. company… Allegedly!
Administrative Contact:
Mahato, Sunil aceast.com@gmail.com
1 Naskarhat
Picnic Garden Road
Kolkata, West Bengal 700039
IN
+91.9231520717
Technical Contact:
Mahato, Sunil aceast.com@gmail.com
1 Naskarhat
Picnic Garden Road
Kolkata, West Bengal 700039
IN
+91.9231520717
 
Here are two screen shots. The first, on the left depicts the botched VeriSign logo, the one on the right is the output of the "Who Is" command done from a Linux console. Click on the images to enlarge them.
You can login to our chat room here. Login as "Guest" and use the password "Pa$$word". Please address your questions to Phil or Adam. We would be glad to hear from you.
|